Brief Company Description: Marine consulting firm
Deltek Vision Version: 6.1
Number of Employees: 60
Company Position: Technical Aide
Number of Offices: 0
Year Vision Installed: 2010

Workflow to alert Project Managers

Postby AliT » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:01 am

I'm new to creating workflows, and I've been asked to figure out how to notify all the project managers in our company that all the timesheets have been approved (so they can run project reports.) What's the best way to get this done? I was thinking a scheduled workflow might work, but someone else suggested a web service type workflow. Any suggestions or best practices?

Thanks in advance!
Alice

Gerald Cox
Site Admin
Company: Hurt & Proffitt, Inc.
Brief Company Description: We are primarily a Civil Engineering and Surveying firm that offers a few other supporting services. We upgraded to Vision from Advantage in 2005.
Deltek Vision Version: 5.1
Number of Employees: 70
Company Position: IT Director
Vision Modules: Accounting / Billing / Time & Expense / Payroll / CRM / Proposals / Planning
Number of Offices: 3
Year Vision Installed: 2005
Vision User Group: Richmond, VA

Re: Workflow to alert Project Managers

Postby Gerald Cox » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:20 am

Unfortunately, I don't believe that Vision has any kind of trigger for when timesheets are actually approved. Timesheet Approval and Timesheet Due alerts are created in the Company Alerts Configuration and not Workflows.

You'd probably have to do something tricky directly in SQL to make this happen. I'd be interested to know if you ever figure out a solution. I've wished for this in the past.

AliT
Brief Company Description: Marine consulting firm
Number of Employees: 60
Company Position: Technical Aide
Year Vision Installed: 2010

Postby AliT » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:32 am