Exporting/Importing MS Project

A forum for Deltek Vision Project Planning & Resource Management.
jdcastaner
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:04 am
Brief Company Description: Engineering Firm
Deltek Vision Version: 7.0
Number of Employees: 0
Company Position: Project Admin
Number of Offices: 0
Year Vision Installed: 2010

Exporting/Importing MS Project

Postby jdcastaner » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:43 am

Can vision only export/import to MS Project 2007? I'm having issues every time I try to do that with MS Project 2010.
-Josie

AliT
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:55 am
Brief Company Description: Marine consulting firm
Deltek Vision Version: 6.1
Number of Employees: 60
Company Position: Technical Aide
Number of Offices: 0
Year Vision Installed: 2010

Re: Exporting/Importing MS Project

Postby AliT » Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:25 pm

No, you can import Project 2010 as well, but even with Project 2007, the import wasn't perfect. Among other issues, if your resources didn't match what Vision was expecting to see, it wouldn't map that resource; it would just leave it blank. I tend to see the Project import as "sometimes it's better than starting from scratch on big projects", but it's not 100%. You still have to go in and do cleanup. What are you experiencing?

jdcastaner
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:04 am
Brief Company Description: Engineering Firm
Deltek Vision Version: 7.0
Number of Employees: 0
Company Position: Project Admin
Number of Offices: 0
Year Vision Installed: 2010

Re: Exporting/Importing MS Project

Postby jdcastaner » Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:17 am

Every time I try to export into 2010 I get an error message. It's being looked into so hopefully I'll get some answers in a few days.

AliT
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:55 am
Brief Company Description: Marine consulting firm
Deltek Vision Version: 6.1
Number of Employees: 60
Company Position: Technical Aide
Number of Offices: 0
Year Vision Installed: 2010

Re: Exporting/Importing MS Project

Postby AliT » Mon Jul 15, 2013 6:30 pm

What's the error message? Am I correct in understanding that you have exported a plan from Vision and are trying to open it in Project 2010, or is it the other way around?


Return to “Project Planning & Resource Management”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest